Skip to content ↓
Woodlands High School

Woodlands High School



Digital Competency

Digital competence plays an increasingly powerful role in the 21st Century for communication, entertainment, leisure and lifelong learning.  Having the ability to use digital skills and learn new ways of working is an increasingly essential feature in the modern world.

The Framework is broken into four categories which are broken up into a number of elements. These are:

  1. Citizenship
  • Identity, image and reputation
  • Health and well-being
  • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
  • Online behaviour and cyberbullying
  1. Interacting and Collaborating
  • Communication
  • Collaboration
  • Storing and sharing
  1. Producing
  • Planning, sourcing and searching
  • Creating
  • Evaluating and improving
  1. Data and computational thinking
  • Problem solving and modelling
  • Data and information literacy

As a school community we have been eager to embrace the Digital Competence Frameworks as a cross curricular responsibility, helping our whole community to maximise the use of digital technology in daily lives and become positive, safe online citizens. Our school community understands the need for digital confidence as fundamental in preparing our learners for life after school.

Rights Respecting SchoolsDofEEco Schools - silvereco Schools - bronzeHealthy schoolsAQA UASCareer Wales